Connect with us


9 Montana counties in severe drought, 11 more under alert

Carie Birkmeier



HELENA, Mont. (AP) – Montana officials say nine counties have reached severe drought status and 11 more are under a drought alert.

Lt. Gov. Mike Cooney is chairman of the Governor’s Drought and Water Supply Advisory Committee. He says the region has had two years of low snowpack, early runoff and little moisture under the soil.

Department of Natural Resources and Conservation officials say the severe drought status prompts state agencies to take action in those counties under the Montana Drought Response Plan.

The counties in severe drought are Teton, Lewis & Clark, Powell, Missoula, Sweet Grass, Stillwater, Carbon and Yellowstone.

The seven counties put on alert status Thursday are Broadwater, Jefferson, Silver Bow, Granite, Mineral, Park and Big Horn. Glacier, Pondera, Carter and Sanders counties were previously on drought alert.

Copyright 2016 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Upcoming Events

march, 2019

Filter Events

22mar3:00 pm7:00 pmSmokin' Aces Rail Jam3:00 pm - 7:00 pm Big Sky ResortEvent Type :Sports

22mar(mar 22)9:00 pm23(mar 23)12:00 amAlbum Release Party9:00 pm - 12:00 am (23) Choppers Grub & PubEvent Type :Music

30mar6:00 pm10:00 pm7th Annual Auction for the Arts6:00 pm - 10:00 pm Moonlight LodgeEvent Type :Arts

31mar8:00 am5:00 pmSKI for MS at Big Sky8:00 am - 5:00 pm Big Sky ResortEvent Type :Other