Connect with us


State panel to start drawing legislative districts



The Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission meets July 12 in Helena to debate how legislative district maps will be drawn, the process for submitting public plans and a schedule of public hearings.

The five citizen members, appointed by the Legislature and the Supreme Court, will redraw the 100 state house districts and 50 state senate districts.

Montana is one of 13 states that give the primary responsibility for drawing legislative districts to a commission. The legislative plan, scheduled for adoption in 2013, will take effect for the 2014 election cycle.

The meeting is open to the public and will also be streamed live on the internet at and broadcast on the Legislature’s public access television network, TVMT. To view a list of TVMT channels, visit

Comments are distributed to commissioners and become part of the commission’s permanent public record. Comments may be mailed, e-mailed or faxed to:

Legislative Services Division
P.O. Box 201706

Helena, MT 59620-1706

Fax: (406) 444-3036


The commission’s webpage is:

Upcoming Events

september, 2022

Filter Events

No Events