Connect with us


Big Sky tax board elects new member

Avatar photo




BIG SKY – The Big Sky Resort Area District tax board had three available positions on Nov. 3, with five candidates vying for four-year terms.

Incumbents Jamey Kabisch and Mike Scholz were each elected to a second tenure, and Kevin Germain was voted to fill the position vacated by outgoing board member Jeff Strickler. Tallie Lancey and Grace Young also contested the seat Germain won, and he took the oath of office at the BSRAD board meeting on Nov. 11.

Kevin Germain

Kevin Germain


Germain joins Kabisch and Scholz, as well as the other sitting board members Ginna Hermann and Heather Budd, who are up for reelection in May 2018. Germain works in planning and development for Lone Mountain Land Company and is a board member of the Big Sky Chamber of Commerce; Big Sky Mountain Trails, Recreation and Parks Special District; Moonlight Community Foundation; Big Sky Natural Resource Council; Jack Creek Preserve Foundation; and is a member of the Custer Gallatin National Forest Working Group.


Jamey Kabisch

Jamey Kabisch

Over the past 10 years, Big Sky resort tax collections have increased 50 percent to a high of more than $4.1 million in fiscal year 2014-2015. In an attempt to encourage voter turnout for November’s election, EBS editors moderated a debate on Oct. 15 at the Warren Miller Performing Arts Center.


Mike Scholz

Mike Scholz


During the debate, candidates were asked a number of questions regarding the best use of resort tax funds and future issues facing the board, before opening the floor to questions from community members.

Big Sky Resort Area Tax board meetings are held once a month in the BSRAD office – above Grizzly Outfitters Ski and Backcountry Sports in Town Center – and are open to the public. The Big Sky resort tax refers to the 3 percent tax applied to luxury goods in the district that spans both Gallatin and Madison counties.

Upcoming Events

december, 2022

Filter Events

No Events